Ten Things To Know: Colorado Rapids vs. Real Salt Lake

Friday, August 21, 2020

Our Rapids play-by-play announcer, Richard Fleming, is renowned for being detailed in his preparation when calling MLS games, and he is offering us a little insight into some of his pregame notes.

Find below, some things you may find useful ahead of the Rapids’ home game against Real Salt Lake. Coverage on Altitude and AltitudeNOW from 6.30pm on Saturday.


  1. If selected, then goalkeeper William Yarbrough would make his DICK’S Sporting Goods Park debut.
  2. Captain Jack Price and defender Danny Wilson are available again after serving a one-game suspension. Both were dismissed in the 3-2 loss to Sporting Kansas City during the MLS Is Back Tournament.
  3. This is the second time the teams will have met this season. Real Salt Lake won 2-0 in Orlando, but that contest did not count toward the Rocky Mountain Cup.
  4. Former Rapids goalkeeper Zac MacMath, now with RSL, has started all five of their games.
  5. RSL will be without two players due to suspension. One-time Rapids midfielder, Kyle Beckerman, as well as central defender Marcelo Silva sit out this one.
  6. After five games, the Rapids are 2-2-1 (7 points). Their top scorer is Jonathan Lewis. He has three goals from five appearances, all as a substitute for a total of just 74 minutes.
  7. The Rapids have used 22 players through five games. Four players have started all five games - Lalas Abubakar, Kellyn Acosta, Younes Namli, and Sam Vines. Only Abubakar and Vines have played every minute.
  8. RSL have similar struggles to 2019 i.e. in front of goal. Last season, only bottom side Vancouver Whitecaps scored fewer goals in the Western Conference. So far, RSL’s three goals (from five games) is the fewest in the West.
  9. The Rapids are without a win in the last six meetings with RSL (0-5-1), and have been held scoreless in four of those games.
  10. The teams will meet again on Saturday, September 12 at Rio Tinto Stadium in the second leg of the Rocky Mountain Cup, which has been held by RSL since 2016.